SNELL Data Tech Sheet
Current Labels found in helmet
SA2015 Good till Jan 1 2027
The following data was gathered from the SNELL Foundation
Auto Racing Helmet Ratings
Helmets are rated by the SNELL Foundation as SA, M, or K rated
Snell SA Rated Helmets:

Snell "SA" (Sports Application) rated professional helmets are designed for auto racing and provide extreme impact resistance and higher fire protection.
Snell M Rated Helmets:
Snell "M" (Motorcycle) rated helmets are designed for motorcycling and other motorsports. They offer less protection than SA rated helmets.
Snell K Rated Helmets:
Snell "K" (Karting) rated helmets are designed for Karting applications. They are subjected to the same test standards as SA helmets except they do not require a fire retardant interior.
The differences between SA and M Rated Helmets:
- SA standard requires flammability test while the M standard does not.
- SA standard has rollbar impact test while M standard does not.
- SA standard allows narrower visual field than M standard (Some SA helmets aren't street legal).
Does my helmet meet the necessary SNELL requirements?                                                          Always check your club and or racing sanctioning body rule book to determine what helmet specifications they require. Most seem to allow you to use the current SNELL specification, as well as the previous SNELL specification. So, in that case, for the 2023 season, you could use SNELL SA2015 or SA2020 rated helmets. SNELL(M,K,SA) 2005 or 2010 helmets no longer meet current requirements. The bottom line is... always read your rulebook carefully.
Also, if you are considering the purchase of a Snell "M" rated helmet, be sure that your club will allow them. For instance SCCA Solo does allow Snell "M" helmets, although some organizations require "SA" rating. We recommend using the "SA" helmets because they will be legal for any type automotive activity you participate in.

What is the current SNELL rating?
New ratings typically come out every 5 years. The current rating is 2020 but the 2015 is still legal. We currently carry SNELL SA2020 helmet. The M2010, K2010, and SA2010 rated helmets are no longer available.

SNELL Standard The Snell Memorial Foundation is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to research, education, testing and development of helmet safety standards. Since its founding in 1957, Snell has been a leader in helmet safety in the United States and around the world. More information about Snell standards can be found at
Boteler Racing
Last Update: 12/19/2023
We Accept:
Copyright 2000 - 2024 by "Boteler Racing"  All Rights reserved
Boteler Racing Operations
P.O. Box 642
Westminster, MD 21158-0642
410.236.3715 / 410.876.6851
Prices subject to change without notice